Until Those Words Become My Own

The other day, I went along with a woman I work with out to lunch to meet up with a donor.  When we returned to the office, she thanked me for going with her and, when she was walking out of the office, she was still explaining to me how fun it was for her to go to things like this lunch.  As she stepped over the threshold of the door, she was still thinking about it, shaking her head and exclaimed quietly to herself, she completely genuinely said: “I love my job.”

She was completely and fully passionate about her job and absolutely adored what she was doing.  Working with Liberal Arts donors was her dream.  Meeting up with them over lunch, getting to hear their stories and learn more about their lives was an absolute dream to her.

I can’t wait to be in a position where I absolutely love what I am doing, day in and day out.

I could easily be writing this post with feelings of discontentment and frustration (for I have felt both of those things as I await my summers serving at SpringHill – more on this below), but instead I choose to write this post with eager anticipation and joy for the future.

(Note: not always would I have been able to do this.  Throwback to freshman year of college when I was full of frustrated discontent and unhealthy eagerness for not only that summer, but for graduation as well.)

I write this post with feelings of joy and hope because I have grown.  I once was discontent, now I know that God has me in school and at IUPUI for a reason.  He is molding me now, shaping me into the person He wants me to become.  I don’t know what tomorrow may bring, but I know that the future is in His hands and that He is sovereign.  I am humbled that He has chosen me to be a part of furthering His kingdom.

As I just finished up my junior year, I look forward to the Lord’s summer that He is blessing me with and eagerly anticipate how He is going to work in and through me to minister to others.  (More on this coming summer, here).

I know that I still have one more year of my undergraduate career for a reason; I know that it is intentional that I am not graduating in 2016, but in the spring of 2017.  I know that He is faithful to complete the good works that began in me, the desire He placed in my life to pursue a career in camp ministry.

“I love my job.”

I cannot wait until those words become my own.  I cannot wait until I murmur those words to myself and genuinely mean them in regards to my career, my future, my full-time-post-graduation job.

I know that my desire to serve others was given to me by the Lord.  I know that my desire to minister to others was given to me by the Lord.  I know that these good gifts are from above.

He has blessed me with a passion for camp ministry. Soon enough, it’ll be my turn to murmur those words – “I love my job” – with genuine excitement.  I cannot wait until those words become my own.  I can’t wait to chase my dream and pursue a full-time career within camp ministry!

One thought on “Until Those Words Become My Own

  1. Krystiana says:

    Love this. Love you. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

