Journalism + Camp (Finally Able to Marry the Two)

Crafts to the max, getting to be a role model, rockin’ those chacos, and life-long friendships are just some of the many positives of working at a camp for the summer.

As some of you may know, I am an Editorial Contributor for the Lala, an online publication for college women full of powerful and uplifting content.  What does this have to do with camp (and with me), you may ask?  Well, this past month I was assigned to write a story on Why Every Career-Driven Girl Should Work at Camp for a Summer.  What better topic could I write about?!  You try and come up with something better for me to write about.

I ended up writing an article (which you can read on the Lala, here) that Levo League got a hold of (which is, as I write, up to 36K recent views on their platform).  The American Camp Association got wind of it and blasted it on their social media, too.

Why am I telling you all of this?  Because I feel blessed.

Since declaring the pursuit of a journalism major in 2013, I have written a great amount: a lot of hard news, a fair amount of creative pieces, and some on my most favorite topic of all, camp.  Since starting this blog on camp, I have been able to combine two of my passions (as well as two things I am good at): writing and camp ministry.

After writing the piece for the Lala and having it receive attention elsewhere as well, I have felt humbled and blessed.  Humbled that that many people would choose to click on and read my article, and blessed that I have been given the platform to write about something that I love and to have such a positive response to my passion.  (Thanks, SGF for giving me this perspective – “love that you wrote about what you loved, and so many people are reading it.”)

Feel free to check it out yourself, if you’d like.  And let me know what you think of it.

So grateful to be able to write about something so near and dear to my heart.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

