Prepping for Summer 2016

Today, I turned down an Assistant Director position with a SpringHill Day Camps team.  WHAT?!  Yep, you read that right.  Here’s the story:

At the end of this past summer, a major question that inevitably floats around is Are you coming back next summer?

I wasn’t sure if I would be returning to SpringHill, nor did I know what capacity I would return in.  As the months have continued on, I’ve become less and less sure about returning to SpringHill for the summer of 2016, which has been a surprise even to myself.

I have worked with SpringHill for the past four summers and, wanting to go into some sort of ministry, but not sure what type, I looked to expand my experiences for 2016.

After looking into other ministry opportunities (Focus on the Family, Samaritan’s Purse, Northview Church-Carmel, etc.), I came to the conclusion that I wanted to indeed work at a camp.  That being said, I realized that I didn’t want to do the same thing I had done the past four summers; I either wanted to do overnight if I worked for SpringHill again, or I wanted to work for another camp altogether.

I was talking with a friend, KK, and she told me that challenges are a time for growth.  I am excited to take on a challenge outside of SpringHill day camps and grow in ways I never have before.

This is where the trust comes in.

Today, I forfeited the only guaranteed position offered to me for the summer of 2016, that is, to work as an Assistant Director for SpringHill.  I am now seeking a position at SpringHill IN Overnight as well as a position at Sky Ranch Camps down in TX.  Both possibilities are outside of my comfort zone, are challenges, and are areas for growth.

I am eager to continue working on my plans for the summertime in the next several months as I seek the Lord’s will.  I hope to trust in Him and rely fully on Him for what is to come.

It seems a little crazy to me to not be going back to SpringHill day camps.  It is a surprise, even to myself.  But I know the Lord has big plans for me this summer and I can’t wait to see in what form I will be able to serve Him and others in the warmer months ahead.

2 thoughts on “Prepping for Summer 2016

  1. […]  (Read about my decision to turn down a returning Assistant Director position for day camps here.)  I wasn’t even sure if I’d be returning to SpringHill Camps, let alone camp […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

