Finding Joy, Love For Camp Life

Today I volunteered down at SpringHill Camps in Seymour at the overnight location.

Yesterday I was on the fence about going, wasn’t sure if volunteering was the way I wanted to spend my free Saturday amidst the crazy busy start to my semester.

This morning when I got up I still wasn’t 100% confident I wanted to make the drive to volunteer just for the day.  Even after getting up this morning, I wasn’t convinced I should be going.

Driving down to Seymour was beautiful and, as the miles rushed by, I became more and more excited.

As I pulled off the interstate and onto 258 I became more and more eager to get onto camp property and to be somewhere I feel comfortable and peaceful.

I was home.

The day began for me with seeing volunteers and staff at work with families who were there for the Labor Day Weekend Family Camp.  I loved walking from the dining hall to the climbing wall, along the gravel path and surrounded by water and trees.  Beautiful.

After that, I rode back to the dining hall with Ashley and Ryan for a session, then headed over to the craft house where I found Lauren.  I was excited to find that I’d be working with her for the day.

She reviewed a few things with me briefly and, not long after, we had our first guests.  From there, we never had a lull.  It was a long, six hours after that, full of lots and lots of crafts — tie dye, bracelet-making, and chalk paintings.

By the end of the day, we were both exhausted, but realized that we made a good team.  It was so fun working alongside my middle school best friend from church!

After the final guests left, we tore and cleaned the craft house with Eric’s help, then I began saying my goodbyes.

It was so good to be back at SpringHill for the day.  Even if it was less than 12 hours, being at camp sparked it me a fire.

The Lord gave me so much joy, simply through me spending a day down in Seymour, IN at SpringHill.  I couldn’t have asked for a better break from academics and school-life and stress.

The Lord knows exactly what I need; He is faithful and He is sovereign.  He surely blesses.

2 thoughts on “Finding Joy, Love For Camp Life

  1. Christi says:

    Hi Jess, hope your school year is good. You were laid on my heart this morning and wanted you to know I am praying for your joy, strength and, for some reason, focus keeps coming to me. You are an amazing young lady and I am grateful you continue to share the things God is doing in your life. Hope to see you soon. Let us know if you’re ever around here!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Christi,
    It is so great to hear from you – I hope you and your beautiful family are doing well.
    Thank you so much for the prayers; I truly appreciate them and seem to be needing lately all that you prayed for, for me – joy, strength, and focus; joy in my situations that I find myself in, strength to continue walking in His delight, and focus on the upward prize to which we have been called heavenward. Focus is something I have been needing – focusing my prioritizes in the right order. All that to say: thank you. Thank you for the prayers, thank you for going out of your way to write a note.
    Miss you, and I might just take you up on that and visit sometime!

    Like

Leave a Reply

