My Challenging Summer That Grew Me

Wow – time really does fly when you are having fun!  Just like a snap of the fingers, my summer with SpringHill Camps has come to a close.

I have put off writing this blog post because there is so much to say – so much has happened and so much needs to be shared.

I will try to keep it brief.  I think the two words that describe this summer best are: challenging and growth.

This summer was super challenging, especially the beginning of the summer.  I was unsure what I was doing in an assistant director position and, honestly, wasn’t sure if I was going to make it through the entire summer.  I am pleased to say that I made it!  I was challenged in so many ways: in my leadership abilities, my responsibility, my interpersonal skills, my walk with the Lord, and with my relationships with others.   All things that, in the moment, challenge seems painful, but, upon getting through, they feel successful and good.

I also grew a lot this summer.  I grew in my relationships (with other friends, with fellow staff members, and with the Lord), in how I lead others, and in how I treat others.  I grew in my love for camp ministry, in my love for campers and their families, and in my love for my team.

At the beginning of the summer, my main mode was survival.  I was really trying to get through the course of the summer and make it until when my contract would expire.  I’m not going to lie: the beginning of the summer was rough.  However, God has bigger plans and He remains sovereign and faithful AND He knows the big picture; nothing comes as a surprise to the Lord.  He gave me a wonderful second half of the summer.

As the summer came to a close, I found myself wishing it was longer.  I wasn’t necessarily excited for the next summer, but simply wanted a continuation of this summer.

My, how blessed I am to have something that makes saying goodbye so difficult, to paraphrase Winnie the Pooh.

One thought on “My Challenging Summer That Grew Me

  1. nkcrawford says:

    You did such an awesome job this summer!! I am so proud of you!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

