Learning To Be Intentional

Last night we had Higher Ground, our staff Bible study. I led it and, wasn’t too sure how it was going to go. The topic was God’s Desire For Relationships. I tweaked the big idea a little bit and made it broader, focusing on love in general. We discussed God’s love for us, and then our love for Him and for others.

At the beginning, we focused on the truth – God loves us. And His love for us is sacrificial, unconditional, and everlasting. Our response to this knowledge is for us to love others, and to love without fear (1 John 4:18) and to love in truth (1 John 3:16-18, Ephesians 4:15).

Like I said, I was nervous going into it because of the given topic. However, God really was able to speak through me and help me to deliver an applicable and understandable message.

The layout of the evening was discussion-based, which gave opportunity for others to speak and share their thoughts on the given topic.

I hope others felt encouraged and strengthened by the message. The funny thing is, I know I did.

I left last night with one word resonating with me soundly: Intentionality.

We have 2.5 weeks left in the summer, and with those weeks left, I really want to be intentional. Intentional about building stronger relationships with others, intentional about building a stronger relationship with the Lord, and intentional about the time left in my summer.

It’s time for me to invest, to invest in others and in the Lord.

With the stresses of prepping for Higher Ground, I never thought the evening’s message would go as smoothly as it did, nor did I think I would be the one getting a lot out of it.

He knew what I needed to hear; He knew what I needed to open my head and my heart to and what I needed to learn. The God that we serve works in mysterious and beautiful way.

Leave a Reply

