Learning Through Co-Workers

I’ve learned so much and grown so much being an assistant director for the Indy 2 day camps team.  I have been largely influenced by those immediately surrounding me, my co-workers.

Andrea and Kate are the two other assistant directors for our team, and are both awesome, rockstar individuals.

Through working with Kate, I have become more of a critical thinker.  I strive to no longer accept things as they are given to me, but to ask questions and to think of good, smart questions to ask.  I have also learned what confidence looks like and standing up for what you believe to be right, whether it is a big thing or a small thing.  By not allowing yourself to be walked on, and by asking the right questions, one becomes a stronger leader.

Through working with Andrea, I have learned what balance looks like.  Andrea does a great job of balancing camp work with time to relax, and she does a good job doing both.  I have learned to strive to be a present person, in whatever I am doing.  Whether I am at work or at a host home relaxing, I need to understand that balance is a good thing, and that I need to be 100 % present wherever I am at.

Leave a Reply

