Catching Up

It’s been a while (too long) since I’ve put up a post… such is camp life.

We finished up training in Seymour, and it was more difficult to say goodbye to the overnight location than I anticipated, much more difficult than last year’s goodbye.

Camp began! Overall, the week was a good one. Speaking in big-picture terms, everyone stayed safe and everything ran relatively smoothly.

It was a long week, though, and I was glad for a time of rest on Saturday.

Throughout the course of week 1, I learned that my role this summer is going to be much more challenging than originally anticipated.

I am constantly seeking strength, strength and peace from beyond myself. He is the Sustainer of all things and can provide me with that strength and peace – it can only come from Him.

I am using the word challenging to describe week 1 for me. It felt as though I was constantly coming from behind and was putting out (hypothetical) fires instead of preventing them from the start.

This week, week 2, I use the word better to describe the week. It is only Tuesday evening, but the week is already off to a great start without too many bumps.

This evening, I got the privilege of leading our staff Bible study – Higher Ground – for about 45 individuals. I have never led a study that large before for other college-aged individuals, but the Lord was with me and gave me the words to speak, allowing me to recall Scripture when needed and
The message was on The Costly Participation in God’s Kingdom. Our springboard text for the evening was Luke 9:23-26, which says:

“Then he said to them all: “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross daily and follow me. For whoever wants to save their life will lose it, but whoever loses their life for me will save it. What good is it for someone to gain the whole world, and yet lose or forfeit their very self? Whoever is ashamed of me and my words, the Son of Man will be ashamed of them when he comes in his glory and in the glory of the Father and of the holy angels.” NIV 

Some of my notes from the evening are as follows:

Citizenship in the Kingdom:

Why do we accept the cost?

-Because we know Him.

-Because we are loved by Him.

-Because our souls are wrapped up in His saving grace.

-Because we are absorbed by the truth of His love for us, we desire to live as He lived and sacrifice as He did. This is a work of the Holy Spirit in us.

True life is found in complete, loving obedience that comes from putting your hope in Christ as Savior and Lord. Jesus wants you to surrender your old life – putting off the old self – and become a slave to Him in new life. This change should take place not just on Sundays, or during camp in the summertime, or at church events, but always.

Closing Quotes:

  • “It is not enough to confess that Jesus is the Messiah if we do not understand that His messiahship involves suffering and death. If Jesus’ mission involves the cross, those who would follow Him must embrace the same price. Jesus’ messiahship meant that He would suffer and die; those who wish to follow Him must be ready to pay the same price.”
  • “Only a cause worth dying for is truly worth living for…”

Prayer Prompter:

  • Ask God to show you where you need to deny yourself more, to live as Christ more, and to be bolder for Christ.
  • Praise God for His work on the cross, His example of love, and His life-giving, death-defeating sacrifice.
  • Thank Him for the responsibility and opportunity to be a follower of Christ.
Leave a Reply

