Excitement and Peace Amidst a Time of Change

Since the end of last summer I knew I wanted to return to a day camps team and continue serving alongside SpringHill.  As an Area Director last year, I knew I wanted to return as an AD the following summer.  During my exit interview, the camp director and I even talked about the potential of being on resident staff in the future, in a couple years.

As the school year winds to a close and I finish up meeting and appointments this Friday afternoon, I cannot wait to get to camp.  I leave on Monday morning to head down to Seymour for four weeks of training, then off to nine weeks of camp around the state.

Just a few short days ago, I called my boss to touch base with him before the summer and training began; it was great to catch up.

Near the end of the conversation, he said something that surprised me.  We’ve had our residence staff team set for quite some time now, or so we thought.  We planned on having Eric director, Kate as our women’s director, Andrea as our administrator, and a guy from SpringHill Michigan overnight as our men’s director.  However.

When I called Eric the other day, he explained to me that our men’s director for the summer got a full-time position at Michigan overnight and wouldn’t be doing day camps with us this summer.  So we had a res staff spot to fill.

Because of Eric’s confidence and trust in me, and him seeing my potential, he asked me to think about being on res staff for the summer.  He had a few leads on other men to take the position, but none looked promising.  He asked me to pray about it and we’d talk again in a few days.

Over the past several days I have prayed about this change and have felt both excitement and peace.  Excitement for what the differences will make this summer and the new experiences in store; peace because I knew that God’s hand is on my life and that everything happens for a reason.  Blessed.  The thing I was now struggling with was patience for the final verdict from Eric one way or the other.

A few days later leads up to today.  This morning I got a text message from Eric that officially offered me the “men’s director” role!  I was beyond excited and truly feel that God perfectly orchestrated this into my summer.

As an assistant camp director, I will be focusing on activity scheduling, programming, and overseeing the CITs (counselor-in-training).

It is crazy how God’s timing is not our own timing.  It also is crazy how God works in beautiful if you would have asked me that first Sunday of CIT training what I saw myself doing during the summers four years from now, I never would have guessed I’d be on res staff for SpringHill!  God works in great ways, however, and here I am, ready for a new challenge, a new summer, and a new way to serve Him.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

