A Note to my Summer Self

This summer is going to have lots of ups and downs. Through it all, I need to remember to:

Be bold; be confident. I need to be confident in the position that I am in and bold in the person God has made me to be. I easily can become a coward, and I tend to easily compare myself to others. Comparison is the thief of joy, and I need to remember that I am fearfully and wonderfully made.

Have a humble attitude. One of the most beautiful attributes of a leader is humble servitude towards others. When Christ came to earth, he was a humble servant who bent down and washed His disciples feet.   I need to have that mindset in all that I do. I am a servant. Pride comes before a fall. Prevent the fall by being humble.

Remember that His mercies are new every morning. If a day is rough, the next day holds new and different potential. His mercies begin afresh every morning; great is His faithfulness.

Trust in Him. Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I don’t have to fear evil, because He is with me. He is sovereign and He is faithful. He is more than enough for me, and He is the sole thing that I need and that I should desire. My summer is His, and He holds it in His hands. By trusting in Him, I am leaning not on my own understanding.

Work heartily for the Lord not for man. The earth screams at us to satisfy our needs, our wants, and our desires first and foremost. Pleasing people is a trap that is so easy to fall into. By working for the Lord, I can be refreshed and renewed because I know my labor is not in vain. When I work for man, the focus gets turned to this earth, which passes away. I need to work for the approval of the Lord and for His ways, which has an eternal impact.

Rejoice always, and let my thankfulness be known to God. I need to complain about nothing and instead submit my requests to the Lord, praying that He will guard my heart and my mind in Christ Jesus. Through always rejoicing, I need to focus on excellent and praiseworthy things.

Be patient. A difficult fruit of the Spirit to live out in times of fright or frustration, patience is a way to mimic God. He is a patient God and I should be too, especially when I am dealing with the young campers.

Love. Love covers a multitude of sin, and is the greatest of faith, hope, and love. We can love because He first loved us, and God is love. Love can help the hurting and encourage the fainthearted. I want to love as Christ loved me, with an unconditional and abounding sort of love.

Maybe this is a lot to remember, but all of these attributes are encompassed in me daily picking up my cross and following Him. As I serve and as I love both Him and others, I am to bring glory to God in all that I do.

This summer is not mine but His, for His honor and glory.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “A Note to my Summer Self

  1. nkcrawford says:

    Jess I love this!! They are great reminders for us all!!

    Like

  2. […] are a lot of great things that I could choose to work on (see A Note to My Summer Self here). Joy, patience, prayer, encouragement, just to name a few. I’ve been wrestling about what I want […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

